Posted by: mowriter | March 5, 2007

My ‘legit’ looking blog…versus the myspace variety.

Am starting this so others who give a damn about the URL (over actual tangible CONTENT) can have a forum to read my work.  And not demean themselves with the unhip (read: POPULAR) myspace blog I currently type away at.

I’ve known about this format for quite some time (blogging, etc.). I simply haven’t bothered to use this forum to do my journaling or exploring or obfuscation-ing out of laziness and/or distraction.

Thus the originating name for this blog, “Melancholicide”…the death of melancholy, within my own life. I’ve extrapolated on this on my myspace blog, and ‘may’ do so again, here. We’ll have to see.

I may also have to do something about that title, “Melancholicide”. May turn off the emo goths who dig on melancholy. I for one am sick of feeling like my life is spinning out of control, and am cooking up a mental boiling point to get the drive to push beyond the laziness and actually accomplish something tangible in my life as a result.

More later.


Responses

  1. Hi.

    I just noticed your blog link by your user name among the recent sign-ups over on the Dune Novels BBS and decided to drop by and have a look around.

    “Melancholicide” is an interesting coinage but wouldn’t it mean something more like “murder of melancholy”? It also mixes Greek and Latin roots, but what the heck. (Using “thanatos” would be more authentic, maybe, but kinda an unsightly mouthful.)

  2. My reply:

    I’d forgotten about “Thanatos” as meaning death, beyond the character who helped Captain Marvel shuffle off the mortal coil back in the 80’s (obscure comic reference). I take it “Thanatos” means a more passive “death of something,” without naming any causative elements?

    If so, my intent on the “-cide” ending had more to to with the active, personal putting to death of the melancholy in my own life; far too much information for one little email reply…but I envisioned the blog as an active, conscientious decision on my part to face, weed out, and overcome various beliefs and assumptions in my life that have left me with feelings of overwhelm, loss, and pessimism.

    So I’ll stick with “-cide,” but appreciate that probing inquiry; to me it is an important distinction.


Leave a comment

Categories